Yemen Universities

Public Universities:

Sana'a University:

220px-Sanaa University LogoSana'a University (Arabic: جامعة صنعاء) was established in 1970 as the first and the primary university in the Yemen Arab Republic (North Yemen), now the Republic of Yemen (see also Aden University). It is located in Sana'a, the capital of Yemen, and is currently organized with 17 faculties. When Sana'a University was first established, it had two faculties: the Faculty of Sharia and Law and the Faculty of Education, which also included the specialties of Colleges of Arts, Sciences and Education. In 1974, those specialties were developed and formed three new faculties: Arts, Science, Education. The Faculty of Sharia and Law celebrated the launch of the Business Department, which became an independent faculty a year later. By that time, the university included five faculties and continued expansion until it included the rest of the other specialties. In 2000, the university included 17 faculties, ten of which were in Sana'a including all types of academic specialties; the rest were spread around the country.
Established: 1970
Students: 8000-14000 every year
Location: Sana'a, Yemen
Website: http://www.suye.ac/main/

Read more: Yemen Universities

Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA)

MQA At A Glance

MQAThe establishment of a new entity which merges the National Accreditation Board (LAN) and the Quality Assurance Division, Ministry of Higher Education (QAD) was approved by the Government on 21 December 2005. This entity is responsible for quality assurance of higher education for both the public and the private sectors.

The new entity, the Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA), was established on 1 November 2007 with the coming in force of the Malaysian Qualifications Agency Act 2007. The MQA was officially launched by the Honourable Minister of Higher Education, Dato' Mustapa Mohamed, on 2 November 2007.

The main role of the MQA is to implement the Malaysian Qualifications Framework (MQF) as a basis for quality assurance of higher education and as the reference point for the criteria and standards for national qualifications. The MQA is responsible for monitoring and overseeing the quality assurance practices and accreditation of national higher education.

The establishment of the MQA saw LAN dissolved and its personnel absorbed into the MQA.

With the vision to be a credible and internationally recognised higher education quality assurance body and the mission to inspire the confidence of its stakeholders through best practices, the MQA is set to chart new boundaries in higher education quality assurance.

Read more: Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA)

Malaysian Universities

Public Universities

Public universities in Malaysia are funded by the Government. The undergraduate programs are conducted either in Bahasa Melayu (Malaysia's national language) or in English depending on the University. However, postgraduates programs are usually in English. Every year the government allocated certain budget for research grants to public universities. A post-graduate student studying a doctorate degree may be able to get research grant or scholarship.
Below are a list of public universities in Malaysia:
Universiti Islam Antarabangsa Malaysia
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia
Universiti Malaysia Kelantan
Universiti Malaya
Universiti Malaysia Pahang
Universiti Malaysia Sarawak
Universiti Malaysia Perlis
Universiti Malaysia Sabah
Universiti Pertahanan Nasional Malaysia
Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris
Universiti Putra Malaysia
Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia
Universiti Sains Malaysia
Universiti Teknologi Malaysia
Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia
Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka
Universiti Teknologi MARA
Universiti Utara Malaysia

Read more: Malaysian Universities